President & CEO

John W. Sentell
Business: 847.234.3880 x15
E-mail: jsentell@LFOLA.org 

 

Prior to joining the Open Lands’ staff in 2010, John served as executive director and chief operating officer of The Wetlands Initiative, a leading Illinois environmental organization focused on developing economic-based projects to restore lost floodplain habitat throughout the Illinois River watershed. His additional non-profit experience includes an appointment as vice chairman of the MCDC Corporation, a public tax corporation serving the residents of Collin County, Texas. Prior to his work in the non-profit sector, John had a career in Fortune 500 marketing and new product development for Campbell-Ewald, Inc. and the Leo Burnett Company, as well as independent brand consulting. He was recently elected to serve as president of the statewide Prairie State Conservation Coalition, the cooperative of land trusts in Illinois. He is also proud to represent Lake Forest Open Lands as one of 50 organizations on the Land Trust Alliance’s National Leadership Council.  John is currently secretary of Camp Gingerquill (Grayling, MI), and formerly served terms on the board of Bluestem Communications and the Wetlands Initiative.

John graduated with a Bachelor of Science from Miami University, Oxford (OH) and lives in southeast Lake Forest with his wife Sue, and is the proud father of two college-aged children. A passionate conservationist and fly-fisherman, John is inspired by the deep conservation ethic of Chicago’s north shore communities that help support Open Lands’ conservation work.

Prior to joining Lake Forest Open Lands in 2010, John served as executive director and chief operating officer of The Wetlands Initiative. Additional non-profit experience included an appointment as vice chairman of the MCDC Corporation, a public tax corporation serving the residents of Collin County, Texas. Before this non-profit experience, John had a career in Fortune 500 marketing and new product development for Lintas: Campbell-Ewald, Inc. and the Leo Burnett Company, as well as independent brand consulting. He currently serves on the boards of Bluestem Communications and The Wetlands Initiative, and is an elected officer of the Prairie State Conservation Coalition and secretary of Camp Ginger Quill in Grayling, Michigan. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science from Miami University, Oxford (OH) and lives in southeast Lake Forest with his wife Sue and is the proud father of two college-aged children. A passionate conservationist and fly-fisherman, John is inspired by the deep conservation ethic of Lake Forest and embraced by Lake Forest Open Lands.

“So many have done so much to save our irreplaceable open spaces over the last 50 years. Our community lives among some of the highest quality and most diverse natural landscapes in Illinois − all right at our doorstep. These natural areas help to define Lake Forest today and ensure its future as a truly unique conservation community in our region.”

Development & Administration

Paula Clair, Vice President and Director of Development
Business: 847.234.3880 x16
E-mail: pclair@LFOLA.org

Leslie Davidson, Development Associate
Business: 847.234.3880 x17
E-mail: ldavidson@LFOLA.org

John Hemenway, Controller
Business: 847.234.3880 x14
E-mail: jhemenway@LFOLA.org 

Holly Meeks, Director of Marketing and Outreach
Business: 847.234.3880 x11
E-mail: hmeeks@LFOLA.org
 

Education

Katie Casas, Marketing and Education Administrator
Business: 847.234.3880 x21
E-Mail: kcasas@LFOLA.org 
 
Anissa Chaudhry, Senior Environmental Educator
Business: 847.234.3880 x25
E-mail: achaudhry@LFOLA.org 

Maddie Doyle, Environmental Educator
Business: 847.234.3880 x18
E-mail: mdoyle@LFOLA.org 

Susie Hoffmann, Director, Center for Conservation Leadership
Cell: 847.910.4610
E-mail: shoffmann@LFOLA.org
 
Karen Lewis, Supervisor of Environmental Education and Outreach
Business: 847.234.3880 x22
E-mail: klewis@LFOLA.org

Land Management

Luke Buckardt, Restoration Ecologist and Wildlife Biologist
Cell: 847.707.9878
Business: 847.234.3880 x20
E-Mail: lbuckardt@LFOLA.org

Peter Gordon, Director of Land Management and Operations
Business: 847.234.3880 x20
E-Mail: pgordon@LFOLA.org

Kevin Kerrigan, Restoration Ecologist
Cell: 224.944.1994
Business: 847.234.3880 x20
E-mail: kkerrigan@LFOLA.org

Ryan London, Preservation Programs Director
Cell: 847.494.7218
Business: 847.234.3880 x10
E-mail: rlondon@LFOLA.org 
 
Jim Tunney, Field Supervisor
Cell: 847.707.9861
Business: 847.234.3880 x20
E-mail: jtunney@LFOLA.org